To sustainably manage, collaborate purposively, and coordinate development initiatives among stakeholders in watersheds, the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR), Region 10 partners with stakeholders in the institutionalization of the Agusan-Cugman Cluster of Watersheds Management Council (ACCWMC) through signing of a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) on October 17, 2023 in Cugman, Cagayan de Oro City.

The partners for the MOA include the national government agencies and government-owned and controlled corporations, local government units, non-government organizations, religious group, security group, civil society organization, business sector and the social/people’s organizations. The activity aims to sustainably manage the multiple use of natural resources within the watersheds in a manner that is environmentally sound, economically viable and socially acceptable, and to further restore the productive and protective function of currently degraded watersheds.

“Through this MOA, we are committing to a journey of partnership, shared responsibility, and continuous harmonious effort. This serves as a platform for collective decision-making, resource mobilization, and the execution of sustainable initiatives to protect and restore the ecological balance of our home.”, said DENR 10 Regional Executive Director Henry A. Adornado.

In behalf of Cagayan de Oro City Mayor Rolando “Klarex” Uy, Chief, Administrative Officer Alejo T. Salvani, Jr. of the City Local Environment and Natural Resources Office expressed his gratitude to DENR and stakeholders in the initiative to institutionalize the ACCWMC as this will ensure to implement various environment-related activities that will protect, conserve and show love for the environment. He assured that the Local Government of Cagayan de Oro City will support the endeavor for the benefit of the environment and the communities.

“The National Economic Development Authority (NEDA) 10 strongly supports this noble endeavor to effectively and sustainably manage our watersheds recognizing the propelling impacts of climate change in the region”, emphasized by Assistant Regional Director Leonila G. Cajarte of National Economic Development Authority 10 in behalf of NEDA 10 Regional Director Mylah Faye Aurora B. Cariño.

“The DILG urges our partner agencies to actively cooperate, engage and get involved as we partake further steps looking forward in the operation, supervision, management, protection and rehabilitation of the ACCWMC”, imparted by Chief, Hazel L. Occeña Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG)-Local Government Capability Development Division who represented DILG 10 Regional Director Wilhelm M. Suyko.

The Agusan-Cugman Cluster of Watersheds (ACCW) is a significant and ecological area in Northern Mindanao. It encompasses a vast land of approximately 37,138 hectares within the provinces of Bukidnon and Misamis Oriental covering five municipalities and city, namely: Manolo Fortich, Libona, Baungon in Bukidnon and Tagoloan, Misamis Oriental and Cagayan de Oro City. At the heart of ACCW lies the Mt. Kitanglad Range Natural Park in Bukidnon as its headwater that gives life to the diverse ecosystems within the five watersheds and eventually converge into the Macajalar Bay in Misamis Oriental.

The ACCWMC envisions to have a robust, resilient and nourishing cluster of watersheds that provides vital ecological services and amenities essential to the economy, food security and human survival. The council will serve as the governing body that will oversee the operation, management, protection and rehabilitation of the Agusan-Cugman Cluster of Watersheds. #TayoAngKalikasan RSCIG No. 10-287-2023