The Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR), through the Environmental Management Bureau Region 10 (EMB 10), conducts the turn-over of financial assistance to the selected Local Government Units (LGUs) in Region 10 for the establishment and operation of Material Recovery Facilities (MRFs) on August 15, 2019 in Cagayan de Oro City.

The municipalities that received the said financial assistance are: Bonifacio, Plaridel and Don Victoriano Chiongbian in Misamis Occidental; Binuangan, Magsaysay, Naawan, Manticao, Medina, Tagoloan and Cagayan de Oro City in Misamis Oriental; Sapad, Matungao, Nunungan, Munai, Kolambugan, Tagoloan, Poona Piagapo and Tangcal in Lanao del Norte; and Kitaotao and Lantapan in Bukidnon.

Preceding the turn-over of financial assistance was the formal signing of Memorandum of Agreement for the said purpose by and between the above-mentioned LGUs and EMB 10 last June 17, 2019 in Cagayan de Oro City.

The activity was attended by the key officials of DENR namely: Assistant Secretary for Field Operations - Western Mindanao, Director IV Jim O. Sampulna, Region 10 Regional Executive Director (RED) Arleigh J. Adorable, EMB 10 Regional Director Reynaldo S. Digamo and Region 12 RED Dr. Sabdullah C. Abubacar. Likewise, present to receive the said assistance was no less than the City Mayor of Cagayan de Oro, Hon. Oscar S. Moreno.

RED Adorable appreciated the high environmental awareness and concern of LGUs in the region which are needed for the effective implementation of DENR programs. According to him, the aforesaid financial support to LGUs is only a preliminary step towards attaining a greater purpose for the benefit of the environment. #TayoAngKalikasan RSCIS MR No. 08-225-2019